Student Awards

Dr. Saba Masho Endowed Scholarship in Epidemiology

  • Awarded annually
  • PhD in Epidemiology and MPH students eligible

The Dr. Saba Masho Endowed Scholarship in Epidemiology was initiated in 2018 by a contribution from Dr. Abraham Teklu in loving memory of his wife, Saba W. Masho, MD, MPH, DrPH.

Chair, professor, teacher, and mentor Dr. Saba Masho passed away on May 28, 2018, after a lengthy illness. A vital member of the Department of Epidemiology (formerly known as the Department of Epidemiology and Community Health) since 2001, Dr. Masho served as an inspiration to countless faculty members, staff, and perhaps most importantly, graduate students. In addition to the importance and far-reaching significance of her work, her guidance, friendship, and kindness were particularly meaningful to all who crossed paths with her. 

As family, friends, and colleagues gathered to celebrate her life, it became evident how many lives she impacted in myriad ways. Since then, interested friends, colleagues, and alumni have been making contributions toward the scholarship fund to provide substantial and meaningful support for PhD and MPH students in epidemiology and public health. The endowed scholarship honors the impact and legacy of Dr. Masho’s outstanding contributions to public health through her many years of dedicated teaching, mentoring, and research at VCU.  

We are proud to honor her by ensuring that the Department of Epidemiology that she chaired will grow and prosper, inspired by her memory.

Make a gift

Support the Masho Endowed Scholarship

Memorial contributions may be made to the fund by choosing Masho, Endowed Scholarship in Epidemiology/Saba in the drop-down menu.

2020-21 award recipients

  • Dashaunda DH Taylor, MPH, PhD in epidemiology program
  • Pamela Bailey, DO, MPH, MPH program
  • Whitney Graves, MPH, PhD in Epidemiology program
  • Evelyn Jones, MPH, MPH program

Dr. Christopher "Kim" Buttery Award for Public Health Graduate Students

  • Awarded annually
  • MPH students are eligible

Each year, the Christopher "Kim" Buttery Award recognizes one student who displays excellence in chronic disease epidemiology, bridging research and practice within public health. The award was established in 2017 in honor of C.M.G. Buttery, M.D., M.P.H., a faculty member who taught hundreds of public health students at VCU over three decades. Student awardees are recognized with a monetary award that comes from generous donations by friends of the Delta Eta Chapter.

Make a gift

Support the Buttery Award

Please note that contributions to the fund are not tax-deductible.

Award recipients

  • 2021: Alexis Donaldson, MPH
  • 2020: Taylor Reid, MPH
  • 2019: Rose Bono, MPH
  • 2018: Joshua Montgomery, MPH
  • 2017: Danielle Shelton, MPH

Delta Eta

Established in 2016, Delta Eta is VCU’s chapter of Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health. Membership in the Delta Omega honorary society represents excellence in the study and practice of public health and a commitment to the field. Selected students are in the top 10% of each graduating class academically; each year, we also induct certain outstanding alumni and VCU faculty, and honor community members who contribute to the practice of public health.